Scissors & Synths

Creative endeavors every M-W-F.

Local Brand Spotlight: Istorya Creations

I saw this hand-stamped banderitas necklace at a bazaar last December, and instantly fell in love with it! How could I not get it?! It literally had my name on it!

istorya creations at Scissors and Synths

Turns out that the talented lady behind Istorya Creations is a Joanna, too! Most, if not all, of her jewelry are custom made and this was one of her samples. I ended up ordering 11 items for Christmas gifts the next day.

Excerpts from their Facebook page:

Joanna Gutierrez started making hand-stamped jewelry for personal use on Mar 2011, on May 2012 she decided to start selling her personal creations. Istorya is the first ever store that sells custom-made, hand-stamped jewelries in the Philippines.

Each piece of my creation is handcrafted from start to finish. The metals are cut,wrought, hammered, sanded and filed by hand thus giving each piece a raw and organic feel. Each jewelry is stamped by hand also, I do not use a machine making every truly one of a kind. Due to the nature of the process in making this jewelry some letters may be offset but that just adds to the charm and uniqueness to every creation.

Each piece created at Istorya is a work of love.

It’s perfect for gifts since each order comes packaged in a blue box with a ribbon, with the necklace in an organza pouch, and what I like to call its “hand-made certificate” for the receiver to know its a custom piece.

istorya creations at Scissors and Synths

Aside from the banderitas necklace, I ordered the Amore necklace for a friend and my sisters-in-law. I think they’re really pretty and such a great keepsake for moms, where each disc can have their husband’s or children’s names.

istorya creations at Scissors and Synths

Constellation necklace is another favorite. I love the hammered metal look, versus the smooth finish. I think it adds to its hand-made feel.

istorya creations at Scissors and Synths

Here they are with a one peso coin for size comparison:

istorya creations at Scissors and Synths

What I love overall about istorya is that my gift recipients love them, too! I see my sisters wear them a lot, as well as three of my officemates. Those three ended up ordering more for themselves!

Istorya has other pendant shapes – vertical bars, hearts, donut washer rings – and cute charms as add-ons. They have bracelets, too – either on leather or chain. You’ll always find something you want to get next, everytime you visit the site, haha. So go on over to the Istorya Creations Facebook page, and read their FAQ page to know more about how to customize a piece.

– Jo 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2014 by in Random Wednesdays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
