Scissors & Synths

Creative endeavors every M-W-F.

Itty-bitty 8-bit My Melody & Hello Kitty

Loving these 8-bit-looking, assemble-it-yourself tiny toy figures!

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

I got them at my brother’s “friendly neighborhood gift shop” called TripShop in United Paranaque, where you can find shelves and shelves of toys, watches, clothes, girly abubot and a cool line of home scents, Favori. These LOZ Diamond Blocks are my current favorite item from the shop.

My first one was simply labeled “Dog” but is really a doppelganger of Pluto. Then I saw the Sanrio line, and just had to have My Melody and Hello Kitty! I love the classic Hello Kitty in profile, holding an apple.

The rest of the line includes My Little Twin Stars’ Kiki and Lala (Kiki is the boy. For Pinoys – how disturbing is that name?!); Cinnamoroll; and Hello Kitty’s pet cat Charmmy Kitty (A cat with a pet cat?!).

They also come in other characters like Minions, Snoopy, Bart Simpson, Super Mario and Yoshi, Yoda, Optimus Prime, Darth Vader and … Steve Jobs!

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

Each box comes with the blocks and a set of instructions. It’s helpful to group similar blocks together before starting.

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

It gets exciting when you get to the layer where the character’s faces form!

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

Here’s My Melody just missing her ears:

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

And the complete figure below! So cute!!!

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

Here’s Hello Kitty in progress:

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

And Hello Kitty hangin’ with My Melody:

My Melody and Hello Kitty LOZ Diamond Blocks - Scissors and Synths

These 8-bit cuties are going on my desk first thing tomorrow!

– Jo

3 comments on “Itty-bitty 8-bit My Melody & Hello Kitty

  1. Christopher Tan
    November 17, 2013

    Just FYI, Loz is a China company that makes clones of a Japanese product called “nanoblock”, and they stole many of their designs, as well as my custom designs. Steve Job’s for example is one of my more well known creation.

    • Scissors & Synths
      December 12, 2013

      Hi Christopher, thanks for your note. I did see the original Nanoblocks in a trip to Japan and bought the musical instrument ones for my husband. I figured LOZ was the imitation brand and wanted to see how it differed. I’m sorry to hear that they had stolen designs from enthusiasts like yourself.

  2. Shermaine
    June 16, 2014

    Hi Jo. I bought the My Melody blocks in a market in London, but unfortunately the seller gave me the wrong instructions and gave me instructions for Hello Kitty instead. I was searching for the My Melody instructions online and came across your page. Do you still have your My Melody instructions? If so, I would be grateful if you could forward a copy to me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2013 by in Random Wednesdays and tagged , .
