Scissors & Synths

Creative endeavors every M-W-F.

Organizing Tip: Craft Cart

Here’s a simple trick to centralize your craft tools – set up a craft cart!

All you need is a multi-level cart with wheels, and storage boxes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This helps solve two of my problems:

Problem #1: I craft all over the place
The logical place for me to craft is the home office, where most of my crafty tools are stored. However, all the desk space is occupied by gadgets – laptop, hardisk storage, flatbed scanner and a huge printer.

So I end up crafting in different parts of the house. Mostly in the living room table while sitting on the super furry rug, where I often lose tiny paper scraps, needles and pins. Sometimes in bed (Yes, I’m lazy that way. No judging!). Sometimes on the dining table. Just never in the home office.

Problem #2: Tools are stored in different rooms
Washi tape, markers, stamping, cutting tools are in the home office. But my box of paper scraps and sewing stuff is in a bedroom shelf. Recently used tools are left where I crafted last. So, yeah, I lose track of where my stuff is.

And it’s a lot of stuff:

20130507-234732.jpg

I think I would love a craft room, as seen here, but right now I’m a “nomadic” crafter. Sometimes I just go where Rob is, being the needy person that I am. Haha. So now, I’ll settle for a cart. You can get this cart from Dimensione at PhP 1,500.

20130507-234823.jpg

Choose tools and materials that you regularly work with, and organize them into boxes. I would love it if I had those semi-transparent stackable trays from Muji to make it uniform and neat. But for now this will do. It’s also fun to reuse cute packaging for small items like hand-carved stamps, felt flowers, and ribbons.

20130507-234838.jpg

I stored them by type – paper scraps, sewing stuff, writing/drawing/coloring tools, cutting/punching tools, adhesives.

20130507-234853.jpg

Now, it’s easier to keep track of items, and to transport it where I want it:

To my favorite spot in the living room floor.

20130507-234918.jpg

Or I could drag it to the dining area. This would be better for my posture!

20130507-234945.jpg

Or bring it to bed:

20130507-234932.jpg

Are you ready to roll, too?

– Jo

4 comments on “Organizing Tip: Craft Cart

  1. jasmag
    May 8, 2013

    Ack! I need this in my classroom. πŸ™‚ Wish I could be like you Trippy. πŸ™‚

    • Scissors & Synths
      May 8, 2013

      Hi Jasmag, thanks for reading πŸ™‚ Yes, you should have one in class, too!

  2. Pamkie
    January 16, 2014

    Jo. where did you get the rack and the boxes? :)))

    • Scissors & Synths
      January 24, 2014

      Hi Pam! The rolling rack is from Dimensione, the bottom boxes are from National Bookstore and the blue boxes I got at a bazaar πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2013 by in Random Wednesdays and tagged , .
