Scissors & Synths

Creative endeavors every M-W-F.

Local Brand Spotlight: Simoy ng Haraya

Another local brand spotlight post! Simoy ng Haraya has handmade soaps, home and body fragrances, and body oils. From their Facebook page:

Simoy ng Haraya is a unique line of scents conceptualized and blended by Lala de Leon. A product that is proudly Filipino, it foregrounds the local and the native, conjuring a rustic space of tranquility amid the frenzy of life in the city. Every perfume bottle even comes with a tanaga by poet Angelo V. Suarez—the tanaga is a traditional 4-line poem in Filipino, tightly crafted in rhyme and meter—to help realize this space. Simoy ng Haraya is definitely local color—but for the nose.

The Tagalog names – Alon, Yakap, Dalisay, Alaala, Sulyap – and poetry make these extra special. That’s wave, embrace, pure, memoir, and glance, respectively. Yes, it sounds way better in Tagalog.

I’ve been getting these as gifts from my brother since the brand started in 2011. Hooray for free stuff!

Soap Bars

There are a lot of local organic soap bars out there, but I often find them drying. Then the ones that really moisturize are lacking in the scent department. But these are perfect – you feel clean and soft, and smell lovely.

20130324-165421.jpg

Sinta, Lily of the Valley, is my favorite (PhP 80).

20130324-165437.jpg

Reed Diffuser Oil

This is from their Pambahay (home) line. Who doesn’t love peppermint filling the air? Makes the house smell like The Spa. I already had my reed stick set, so I got the oil refill for my birthday. They have their own sets for PhP 400 with 100ml oil, 8 reed sticks, and 1 bottle. Other scents are Lemongrass, Sandalwood, Chamomile, and Eucalyptus Lavender.

20130324-165457.jpg

Eau de Parfum

Alaala

Umaalon sa isip,
kahapong iniihip
ng simoy ng pagkapit.
Sakit, nanunumbalik.

Alaala, like its soap, is a light and refreshing olive scent. How cute is the crochet capped top?

20130324-165524.jpg

Dalisay

Pinong puso, sa isip
nagkikimkim: Ang nais
ay dungis. Hindi linis,
kundi putik sa kinis!

Dalisay reminds me of my post-college favorite, Acca Kappa. It’s official description is “a soft blend of freesia, jasmine and rose with a touch of light musk. It’s an olfactory return to innocence.”

20130324-165542.jpg

Simoy ng Haraya
https://www.facebook.com/simoyngharaya
For orders, text Simoy ng Haraya at 09178612101 or email at simoyngharaya@gmail.com

– Jo

14 comments on “Local Brand Spotlight: Simoy ng Haraya

  1. olive
    April 10, 2013

    Ang galing ng tula! pati mga brand names! Best of all, mabango talaga! Congrats Lala!

  2. Anissa
    April 11, 2013

    All the products are great! I love the reed diffuser. My room always smells so nice and relaxing with the eucalyptus lavender.

    • Scissors & Synths
      April 11, 2013

      Hi Anissa! I think I will try that scent next when I’m done with my Peppermint 🙂

  3. Lala
    April 11, 2013

    Thanks po 🙂 Thanks, Jo for this feature, will post this in my FB page. Yay!

    • Scissors & Synths
      April 11, 2013

      You’re welcome! I’m looking forward to my order of soaps. Excited to try Gayuma. Keep up the good work!

  4. Raffy P.
    April 11, 2013

    My favorite are the scents, and also the soaps. one of a kind brand. made with love. and passion. and pride. great stuff!

  5. edg
    April 11, 2013

    the olive soap bars were such a hit during xmas!!! personally, love the lemongrass diffussers, hele and white tea room sprays and lambing scent!!!

    • Scissors & Synths
      April 11, 2013

      Oh I’ve got to try those! I was gifted with soap during Christmas too!

  6. Ian
    April 19, 2013

    Ulan is my favorite EDP!

  7. Kimie
    April 19, 2013

    i love the chamomile reed diffuser! must try! 🙂

    • Scissors & Synths
      April 25, 2013

      Oooh that sounds really relaxing, just like the tea i suppose. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2013 by in Random Wednesdays and tagged , , , .
