Scissors & Synths

Creative endeavors every M-W-F.

DIY Embroidered Notebooks

I instantly fell in love with Curious Doodles’ DIY Geometric Pocket Notebook Embroidery Kit when I saw it on Pinterest. I explored their Etsy shop and found all sorts of inspiring things!

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Apart from the DIY embroidery kits, they also have line of embroidered greeting cards with phrases like “hellz yeah” and “fo shizzy.” I particularly liked “thanks yo” because it reminded me of Jesse, one of the lead characters in the TV show Breaking Bad (You MUST watch this series!!!). The laser cut paper posters are gorgeous, too. Me. Want. Laser. Cutting. Machine.

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Anyway, I couldn’t get over this simple yet striking geometric pattern of the DIY notebook kit. The holes are laser cut though so the spacing is very precise. I entertained the idea of doing my own version with a sheet from a math notebook but decided against it.

I came up with a diamond design to feed my geometric-jealousy, and started poking and sewing!

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to document the steps because I was too excited to finish.

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

But for my second embroidered notebook, I made sure to document each step for you guys!

What you need:

  1. Your design on a piece of paper
  2. Notebook with a soft cover
  3. Needle
  4. Embroidery or crochet thread
  5. Tape
  6. Hand towel
  7. Scrap envelope or paper
  8. Glue
  9. Scissors

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Step 1: Print or draw your desired design, and trace it by drawing dots to indicate where the holes will be. Position it on the front cover of your notebook and tape into place.

Step 2: Place the hand towel behind the notebook cover and start poking holes with your needle. The towel will protect your work surface or your notebook’s inside pages. You can use a small flat object to push or “hammer” the needle, so you won’t hurt your fingers. I used my camera’s lens cap.

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Step 3: When you have all your holes outlining your design, remove the design and start sewing! Make sure the knot is in the inside of the notebook. Have your design handy so you can refer to it as you sew. It feels like those connect-the-dots activity books we had as kids. When you’re done trim the excess thread from your knots.

20130131-144307.jpg

Step 4 (Optional): If you want to hide the stitching at the back of the cover, glue an inner pocket. Look at the mess I made for the Diamond notebook!

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

For the first notebook, I used an old window envelope. For the second, I made my own pocket using two pieces of paper and washi tape. I cut off one corner of the front piece so, just like the window envelope, it’s easy to see the contents.

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Ta-daaaaa…

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

Embroidered Notebooks in Scissors and Synths

– Jo

3 comments on “DIY Embroidered Notebooks

  1. Daisy Lace
    February 1, 2013

    gosh these are so cute!

  2. Pingback: DIY Embroidered Photo Cards | Scissors & Synths

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2013 by in Crafty Fridays and tagged , , , .
